Online databases contain full-text articles from multiple sources such as:
newspapers, reference materials, magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, and genealogical sources. Use the Library computers, or log on from home with your library card.
InfoTrac Databases:
InfoTrac encompasses a variety of databases. Search several at once, or select specific databases within InfoTrac. Log in below to search for information in the following InfoTrac databases:
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - Authors' biographical information and critical essays about their writings
- General Reference Center Gold - General interest articles from magazines, newspapers (1980 forward)
- Health Reference Center Academic - Articles on fitness, health, diseases (beginning 1980)
- Expanded Academic ASAP - Search scholarly journals/newspapers (1980 forward)
- General BusinessFile ASAP - "Company performance and activity, industry events and trends," management, etc. (1980 forward)
- Biography Resource Center - Biographies and links to biographical information on over 185,000 people
- InfoTrac Kids - Magazines, reference books and newspaper articles for students in grades K-6
- InfoTrac Junior Edition - For middle school students
- InfoTrac Student Edition - For high school students
- Educators Reference Complete - Covers all aspects of teaching from pre-school to college
- Kids InfoBits - Information for students in kindergarten through grade 5
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
In-library connection to Infotrac
Log in to InfoTrac from home (Library Card required for remote log-in)
Top of page
African American History Online:
Look up historical events, biographies, primary sources, timelines.
Connect to African-American History Online (In-library and remote access)
American History Online:
Historical events, biographies, primary sources, timelines.
Connect to American History Online (In-library and remote access)
American Women's History Online:
Historical events, biographies, primary sources, timelines.
Connect to American History Online (In-library and remote access)
Top of page
Ancestry Library Edition:
Search for records about your ancestors. Ancestry provides records of immigration to the U.S.; birth, marriage, and death records; census lists, military records, directories, and other genealogical materials.
Connect to Ancestry from the Library (Available on Library computers only)
Career Guidance Center:
Facts On File's Ferguson's Career Guidance Center.
Log in from the library
From home.
Grolier Encyclopedias:
Use Grolier's Encyclopedia Americana, the Multimedia Encyclopedia, or Grolier Online Kids.
In-library connection
From home
Top of page
Grove Art Online:
Information about artists and history of the visual arts. This database provides web access to The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art
In-Library Connection
From home
Heritage Quest Online:
"Digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records..." and more.
In-Library Connection
From home
Issues and Controversies:
Search for current information on the most prominent issues of the day, and read objective analysis and explanations of opposing viewpoints
In-library connection
From Home
Mango Languages:
Learn a new language! "Mango is a self-paced learning system with a focus on simplicity." Listen, speak, and learn online. For English language learners as well as those interested in learning foreign languages.
Connect to Mango from home
Top of page
Marshall Cavendish Digital:
Reference material online for students. Includes:
Ancient and Medieval World
Elements
International Wildlife
World and its Peoples: Eastern and Southern Asia
World and its Peoples: Middle East, Western Asia, and Northern Africa
World and its Peoples: The Americas
Log in from the library or from home
Massachusetts Newspapers (Proquest):
Full-text articles from The Boston Globe, Boston Herald, The Worcester Telegram and Gazette, and several other local Massachusetts newspapers
In-library connection
Log in from home: Scroll down to select newspapers. (Library Card required for remote log-in)
Morningstar Investment Research Center:
Available to Westborough residents only.
Log in to Morningstar
New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS):
Aid to researchers tracking their heritage. Online catalog, educational programming, and databases. (Available only on Library computers)
Connect at the Library
Top of page
NoveList and Literary Reference Center (EBSCO databases):
Novelist is a readers' advisory service for fiction readers. It assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles; provides summaries and reviews.
Literary Reference Center provides author information, reviews, and literary criticism.
In-library connection
From home.
Online/Digital Books (eBOOKS), Audiobooks, Videorecordings:
C/W MARS eBooks:
Downloadable books, Audiobooks, Videorecordings Log on at home with your library card.
Reference USA:
Source of information on businesses and people.Useful to researchers, students, and job seekers, business owners, entrepreneurs
Connect to ReferenceUSA (In-library and remote access)
Salem Health:
Online access to Salem Health's reference books Psychology & Mental Health and Magill's Medical Guide
Log in at the Library or from home with your library card
Salem Science Global Warming:
Online access to Salem Science's Global Warming database.
Log in at the Library or from home with your library card
Top of page
Science Online:
This database includes information on the environment, health and medicine, math, physics, chemistry, technology, and science biographies.
Connect to Science Online (In-library and remote access)
Value Line:
Access to Value Line's Investment Survey and Small & Mid Cap Reports.
Available to Westborough residents only.
Log in to Value Line
Westborough News:
Full-text articles from The Westborough News (7/29/2005-current). Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, and other sections.
Available to Westborough residents only.
Log in to The Westborough News
Top of page
Last updated 3/15/2010
http://www.westboroughlib.org
|